FAQ

I already paid the ticket, Why do I have to take this class?

Traffic Survival School attendance is mandated by Arizona Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) in addition to the fine for the type of violation you received. Getting a ticket these days can cost Time & Money!

What is Traffic Survival School (TSS)?

Traffic Survival School (TSS) is an 8 hour Drivers Safety class either mandated by MVD or Court ordered by a Judge. TSS attendance is required by MVD for certain traffic violations and must be completed within 60 days of the “Date Action Begins” stated on the MVD Corrective Action Letter.  MVD is serious about this because if it is not completed within the time limit, MVD will suspend your driver’s license until the class is completed and any and all fines are paid.

Attending our Traffic Survival School will increase your knowledge about current traffic laws, enhance your every day driving skills, and dramatically improve your overall driving safety.

Who must attend Traffic Survival School (TSS)?

TSS attendance is required for the following traffic violations:

  • Aggressive driving
  • DUI – Any DUI conviction
  • Red light conviction -
  • A driver that accumulates 8-12 points on license within a 12 month period.
  • A driver that has an accident that involves a serious injury or a death
  • A driver who has a graduated driver’s license (ages 18 or younger) and receive their first traffic conviction
  • A driver who receives an out of state traffic ticket, where that state requires attending a Traffic Survival School.
  • A Judge has issued a court order for you to attend a Traffic Survival Class (not a Defensive Driving Class.)

What is the difference between Defensive Driving School and Traffic Survival School?

Defensive Driving Class is a voluntary 4 hour class and is designed for individuals who have received only a minor ticket and have not had a traffic ticket in the past two years.  If you are eligible to attend this drivers safety course, then at the completion of the class the points associated with the violation are erased.  This is a good deal if you qualify, its like getting a second chance!

Traffic Survival School is a mandatory 8 hour class and is designed for individuals who have received a major ticket or have acquired 8 or more points on their MVR, or have a red light conviction. After completing this drivers safety class, unfortunately the points stay on your record, but you will be a much safer driver maybe even a role model for others.

Sorry, but if you have attended a Defensive Driving class within the last two years you are not eligible to take another, and must take a Traffic Survival Class.

If you are looking for an Arizona Defensive Driving School click here

I only have a red light ticket, why must I attend a class?

In an effort to ease our red light running problem, Arizona law since 2001 requires every driver who receives a ticket for running a red light (or stop sign) to attend an educational driver safety class in addition to paying the fine for the ticket.  If you did not attend, or were ineligible to take a Defensive Driving class, then you must attend a Traffic Survival School class.

How will the TSS class help me get my license back?

Once you complete the class you will receive a Certificate of Completion, which you can take to an MVD office to apply for reinstatement, provided all other requirements are met (ie. reinstatement fee, etc.)

You may also reinstate your license online ten business days after the date you complete the class.

Click here for Location of MVD Offices.

How do I register for a class?

We make it easy for you, you may register on line, or by phone (602-297-0326).   We know how busy your week can be, that’s why we send out a reminder a few days prior to your class date to help you.

Do I have to pay now?

  • It is not necessary to prepay for a class, but you do have to register prior to the day of the class.
  • You may pay now online for the Phoenix or Gilbert locations or wait until class to pay.
  • For the Avondale, Chandler, Mesa, Glendale, Peoria and Surprise locations you will need to pay at the door.
  • Class size is limited by MVD.  Classes do fill up quickly!  Reserve your seat early.  Register today!
  • Payment the day of the class must be in Cash or Money Order Only.
  • No Personal Checks , Debit or Credit Cards will be accepted the day of the class.
  • If you prepaid for the Phoenix or Gilbert class, please bring your PayPal receipt to class.

What do I bring to class?

You need to bring the ADOT/MVD or National Safety Council letter (or Court Order),  Photo ID,  and Payment.

  • The MVD Letter will either be a “Corrective Action” letter, or if you no longer have the original letter you can contact MVD to get a “Traffic Survival School Proof of Assignment ” letter.
  • Please note that a MVR (Motor Vehicle Record) is not the same and can not be accepted in place of a “Corrective Action” or “Proof of Assignment” letter.
  • If you went to court and the Judge issued a decision that you must attend Traffic Survival School (TSS not Defensive Driving School), then bring a copy of that order instead.
  • Please bring your state issued photo I.D.
  • Payment at the door must be in Cash or Money Order Only
  • No Personal Checks , Debit or Credit Cards.
  • If you prepaid, you will need to bring your PayPal receipt to class.
  • There will be a lunch break, so you may bring a lunch or obtain a lunch from several nearby restaurants.

What if I lost my letter from the ADOT/MVD or National Safety Council ?

You MUST have a Traffic Survival School Proof of Assignment letter from ADOT/MVD  or National Safety Council (or a Court Order requiring completion of a TSS class) to attend class.  If you have lost your MVD letter you can go to MVD to get a replacement letter, or for your convenience  we can print the required MVD letter for you if you arrive early to allow the instructor the extra time needed to process your letter search before class starts for a $10 fee.

What time does class start/end?

Check In for day class is 7:30 a.m.  Class time is 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  Class starts promptly at 8:00 a.m.!!!

Check In for night class is 5:30 p.m.  Class time is 6:00 p.m.(promptly) to 10:00 p.m. each of the two nights.

I can’t make the class I registered for, Can I reschedule my class?

No problem, it’s an easy fix and we don’t have a rescheduling fee.  Just call us at 602-297-0326, or send us an email at  All City TSS . – If sending an email,  please add a comment telling us which location & what date you originally signed up for- thanks.